Good Tripod for Canon 5D

betsy_yaros

<p>I was wondering what your suggestions were for a good tripod for my Canon 5D. I am a grad student on a budget (I was given the Canon through a grant). I do a lot of macro studio work. I have broken several tripods. I want to invest in a good quality tripod that will support and anchor my camera but also won't have me not eating for a month. Thanks for your help!</p>

<p>Betsy, I agree with Tommy's specific recommendation. I love my tripods because they slow me down and force me to compose my shots. I currently have Gitzo Aluminum and Carbon Fiber pods but I started with the Manfrotto (Bogen) gear and dollar for dollar they are the best and they support their products as well as Gitzo and have a strong US distributor and service. You will never be embarrassed with a Manfrotto. Some of the knock off brands are cosmetically OK and that is all they are. When you start to handle them you realize why they are so inexpensive. KEH.com has a pretty good selection of used tripods if you know what to look for. Good hunting. Andy</p>

<p>I just picked up a Manfrotto 7301YB 4-Section Aluminum Tripod w/ 3-Way Head - Supports 7.7 lbs with the 3-way head. Tommy's 3 section is rated 11 pounds, maybe due to less sections. But the all-in-one head and more compact when collapsed mattered to me, I'd like to fit it in a small packsack.</p>

<p>Anyway, it also has the reversing center columns, and I see you can splay the legs out to around 45 degrees. Normal angle can be exceeded by turning a little knob at leg joints. Both these factors allow you to get the head quite close to the ground, for macro.</p>

<p>I'm not that knowledgable on tripods, basically the reviews were good and it's seeming very solid so far (which isn't very far, LOL). Here's a link:</p>