Good price for a Nikon 70-200mm VRI

michael_scharf

<p>Hi All,<br>

I've been shooting part time for many years and never had any complaints from my clients. I was shooting with a D300s for many years with a basic 18-200 VR lens. I recently bought a D700 and now want to buy good quality glass. I was considering the 80-200 two ring version but seems like the price has gone up since I owned one 7 years ago. The VRII is a little too much money for me. The same guy I bought the D700 from is also selling a VRI in perfect mint condition for $1,200. Am I making a mistake by not going for the newest and best? Or should I just buy the cheaper 80-200? I only shoot about 5 jobs a month. Thanks for the help.<br>

Mike</p>

<p>Seems like a good enough deal, since you could (probably) try it out. I have noticed that the 2 ring D lens prices have crept up. On the big auction site, I can't figure out why they (now) generally go for more than the 80-200/2.8 AFS (that I have and use), too close to the price that you could get the VR for.</p>

<p>The real world differences between all versions is fairly small, the VR certainly adds good functionality vs the D version. The new VR-II version is of course the best, but the one my friend has is not "dramatically" better than my AFS version, though I want one for the VR and all other improvements.</p>

<p>There is the new f/4 version to consider, as well.</p>

<p>Thanks for the reply. Old Nikon lenses seem to increase in value. Maybe the VRI will be worth $3k in a few years hahaha. I looked at the f4 but it's still $1,400 new. I'm paying $200 less and still getting the extra stop. Ken Rockwell seems to think the f4 is wonderful but I don't know anyone who personally has it yet. I can't seem to find any used yet either but I'm assuming they won't go for much less than new.</p>