Getting Started

theshorey

<p>Hello All, I'm just getting into Photography as a Part-time source of additional income now that I have a good Nikon to work with and have a question about buying a flash. My starting budget is right around $150, and I have found lots of used SB-800's on ebay in that price range. But where I'm just getting started I was wondering if a new SB-300 would better a better place to start. I realise it doesn't have the same specs or features, but just wanted to get an honest opnion from some regular users who can remember what it's like to start small and be on a tight budget.<br>

Thanks for any help!</p>

<p>Dave - I'm using a Nikon (Can't remember if its the D3100 or D3200) with an 18-55mm VR lens and a 55-200mm VR. I'm mostly planning on doing small time stuff. Portraits/ Head Shots, Engagment Photos, Holiday/Family Photos, Small weddings, parties, things like that. If it becomes suscessful maybe expanding into larger weedings. I also enjoy shooting unique landscape/wildlife/life photos, but thats more on the personal scale.</p>

<p>I would not buy it for your needs. You need a more capable flash with more power and features. You need to make sure that your camera allows you to set flash exposure compensation, which it probably does. And you need to understand the difference between using the flash in TTL BL mode, balanced flash, and just TTL mode, true fill flash. I would get a SB-800 if you can find a decent one; SB-600 as a fallback. Joe Smith</p>