Getting into flash photography.

robert_brown30

<p>Hi,<br>

I have been wanting to experiment with flash photography lately. Thing is, I have no experience using a flash whatsoever (except for the built in flash on my gr1s.) I'm using an M6 classic. I'd want to be using off camera flash, primarily for street. Generally shooting at 800 or 1600 ISO. What would you all recommend?</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>-Rob</p>

<p>As your camera does not have fancy TTL flash metering, almost any flash with an auto mode and a guide number of 28 to 36 or so will do (more does no harm but the flashes are much more costly). Almost all flashes today have a hot shoe connection and would fit straight onto the camera. If you want off-camera flash, you simply need a hot shoe to PC flash adapter like this:<br /> http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/KAISER-1301-FLASH-SHOE-ADAPTER-HOT-FLASH-SYNCHRO-PC-SYNC-1-4-THREAD-MOUNT-K1301-/191172433093?hash=item2c82c3d4c5<br /> You could hold the flash in your hand - you could also get an extension cable so that the flash could be a metre or so from the camera. Or you could get some gadget, such as an L-handle:<br /> http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Pistol-Grip-Flash-Handle-Camera-L-Bracket-3-way-swivel-capable-Shutter-Cable-/271957631192?hash=item3f51f020d8<br /> to hold the camera. Then all you need to do is set the flash to the right ISO, read off the aperture and set it on the lens. set the shutter to the right synchronisation speed (traditionally 1/50 with Leicas) and you're good to go. Don't know why you want ISO 800 or 1600 film - this is good for available light work, unnecessary with flash.</p>