Getting Images to Reproduce Better on This Site

brucecahn

<p>I am a beginner when it comes to digital photography. I have one camera, a cheap Canon P&S. When I

shoot pictures that can be loaded on this site they reproduce badly. I notice that such is not the case for the more

experienced digital photographers. If I adjust the camera for better quality the site will not accept them. Why is this a

nd what may be done about it? Is it a matter of having a better camera or is it something else?</p>�

<p>When you say that they don't reproduce well, are you referring to color, brightness, contrast... or the detail, sharpness, "smoothness" etc? If you're trying to size the image down to a size that's appropriate for this venue (say, 800 pixels or so wide for your gallery here, and no more than 700 pixels on the longest side if you're including the image in a discussion thread), then you need to do that resizing with a piece of software that can do it well, and then use a bit of sharpening AFTER you've sized it down.<br /><br />If you don't have such software, try something free, like Picasa, from Google. <br /><br />DO NOT resize your original file. Work on a copy of it! Keep the original ... original.</p>

<p>If you are refering to forums, we probably all photoshop the camera file save it, then flatten the image, resize to 72 or 100 ppi and 610 wide, do final sharpening at 100 ppi and 610 pixels wide and post. Go back to the .psd file for other size JPEGS using it a master. Sharpen them at final size also.<br>

Any camera should be the same and a P&S digi will look as good as a $5000 camera at that size although some dymanic range will be shorter. </p>

<p>You also need a monitor calibrated so that what you see is what you get.</p>

<p>-- "If I adjust the camera for better quality the site will not accept them"</p>