Gearheads Unite

I am a guitar player and have been for far longer than I've been a photographer, in fact for all but the first 5 years of my life.

What is funny is that the IDENTICAL debates rage in that scene as do here. What thickness of strings, and are they to be nylon, nickel, copper or some crazy alloys? What woods to use - mahogany, rosewood, maple or ply? Pickups? Effects? Amplifiers? Post-processing vs'pure' sound? Blah blah blah

And then the same counterarguments (from the sort of people that I imagine walking around in saffron robes in India and meditating rather than eating) that say that as long as you have studied more technique than Beethoven and Al di Meola and the entire Kings College Choir put together you can make a rubber band stretched between two half-empty beer cans sound like the best flamenco orchestra in Spain.

I agree 100% with the link that you put up. Gear matters. And technique matters. And intuitive skill/touch matters. And application/blood-sweat-and-tears matters.

We are in the business of creating art with technology. Thats the bottom line. It's not as simple as the either-or proposition argued so often.

Thankyou for posting this. I think its valuable.

Two additional notes:

1. It always seemed arrogant to me for people to put down others who wanted guidance on purchasing what, after all, are expensive bits of equipment with lots of alternative choices and lots of marketing hype put out by manufacturers that ends up confusing the consumer. If I'm about to drop what ends up being between $3000 and $5000 on kit (and for some much more), I'll be really appreciating discussing and seeking advice on it from a community of peers.