Galapagos and Jungle--do I need a second body?

john_watson

<p>We are headed for the Galapagos with an extra jungle excursion. I 'll bring a D90 with 70-300 and 18-105, plus a waterproof camera for snorkling and a point and shoot. I also have a Tokina 12-24 ( without motor) which I don't think will be of much value, but will bring along.<br>

Thom Hogan strongly suggests a back up DSLR body for this trip. His point is that this is an extremely hostile environment for cameras--and they are cheap when compared to cost of trip.<br>

I would be interested in opinions on:<br>

1. Whether you agree with Thom or think it is overkill--I am not a professional photographer who must get the assignment.<br>

2. If you do, what body would be a good compliment to my D90. I would normal opt for a minimal one, but hate to lose compatibility with the 12-24.<br>

Thanks in advance</p>

<p>John</p>

<p>A second body is an absolute must unless you are totally indifferent to the possibility of coming back with no photographs.<br>

A D200 seems an obvious choice of backup as it is well sealed, should be relatively inexpensive, uses DX lenses and takes high quality photographs when used appropriately. I use film as a backup often enough - in fact in some ways film is far superior (resolution for a start).</p>

<p>I would definitely get another body. These trips are expensive, and if this is a photo related trip, you'd want as best quality to pull out of them.<br>

Maybe get another D90? That was you can switch between the two bodies and not get too confused? D200 could be a possibility :)<br>

Unless you are travelling on foot for a good part of the day, I'd say bring all lenses you got - backup - plus you won't know the photo possibilities till you get there.<br>

Alvin</p>