Fully Manual Nikon SLRs

joahnna_te

Since you asked about the FA, it shows that you might not mind a used body. Like the others before me, I would choose the FM3a over the FA. If the price of a new FM3a is a problem, you can get about 95% of the features of the FM3a in a used FE2 for a lot lower of a price. The 5% that you don't get would basically be the mechanical shutter, but with good batteries, you would never notice the difference in practice.

For what it is worth, I have been using a pair of FE2s since the mid-1980s, and they perform perfectly today after about two decades of hard use. I was happy when Nikon released the FM3a (an unexpected move in the AF / digital era), but when I contemplated buying one, it dawned on my that with two perfectly operating FE2s, there was no reason.

I just got one too recently and am delighted with it.<br>

Be prepared to shoot a lot more as it's so convenient to bring it everywhere (I mean compared to bigger AF bodies)...<br>

At first I missed the spotmetering mode, but I'm now quickly getting used to CW.<br>Fred.

Ditto everything Ricardo said. I prefer my FM2N because I do a lot of low light shooting and very little flash photography. The red plus-even-minus LEDs are very easy to see and quick to adjust, even for someone like me who was raised on match needle meter readouts.

OTOH, I'm comfortable with quickly calculating flash.

And on the third hand, if I did need to do a lot of flash photography I wouldn't sneeze at a camera with TTL flash capability.