Frozen Fixer

john_wire

ummmmm....I've been developing B&W for 30 years, and I've never heard of freezing your chemicals. Of course, I use one shot developers, or treat them like one shots...and treat the fixer like a 2 or 3 session fixer.........than chuck it all. It ain't THAT expensive. Are you sure freezing is a recommended procedure?

I'm not sure that is a good idea. Most chemicals have a specific range for temperatures for storage. I can't be sure with this specific chemical compound, but I have read in multiple places posts from people who have had precipitation problem that could not later be re-disolved. I would think that storing the powder would be a much better idea - less space, less chance of problems, etc..

- Randy

I was mixing up small usage quantities from the large bulk dry powder Kodak packages. Read where the individual dry chemicals could/would seperate and concentrate, making the proper dry ratios invalid for correct mixing even after vigorous shaking. So... I mixed an entire package and froze the containers to see what happens. Noticed the extremely long time for the fixer to freeze, interesting.

Haven't tried thawing and using yet but will soon. This has to be easier than digital, right?

Thanks for the help and warnings.

Regards.

There's a "freezing point depression constant" based on the osmolality of the solution that

i vaguely remember from chemistry studies. That's about it. That would enable you to

determine by how much a given concentration of a given solution would depress water's

freezing point below 0 celsius.

Maybe google to the rescue here? perhaps Kodak would know the osmolality of the

solution or even its freezing point?

Good luck,

Mike

Hi Michael S, thanks for the tip, did a Google, don't think the freezing point of fixer is THAT interesting or important now. WHEW, where do all the "moles" go when things are working right? GRIN.

When the stuff thaws I'll see if I can get everything dissolved again.

Regards.