Forced Smiles

I'm new-ish here (returning after an extended absence), so if I'm not posting this in the correct place please let me know. I have been shooting weddings, seniors, sports teams, etc for 17 years and never have I had the kinds of problems I have with my own two kids forcing the cheesiest looking smiles. They've both had braces, but think their smiles are crooked so they try to force the smile to show their bottom teeth (see attached). My question is this: Has anyone out there ever had a similar situation and if so, what did you specifically say to the client to get them to smile more naturally? I hear people say "tell a joke", "make them laugh", but are there any specific directions you've ever given?

IMG_0955-2.thumb.jpg.3bb1f437d8c4de5a36b21d96b43721ca.jpg

I'm new-ish here (returning after an extended absence), so if I'm not posting this in the correct place please let me know. I have been shooting weddings, seniors, sports teams, etc for 17 years and never have I had the kinds of problems I have with my own two kids forcing the cheesiest looking smiles. They've both had braces, but think their smiles are crooked so they try to force the smile to show their bottom teeth (see attached). My question is this: Has anyone out there ever had a similar situation and if so, what did you specifically say to the client to get them to smile more naturally? I hear people say "tell a joke", "make them laugh", but are there any specific directions you've ever given?

[ATTACH=full]1308254[/ATTACH]