For those who have owned the D200 and D300...advice pls

pcm__

I'm a studio and street photographer - no need for fast AF, no need for high FPS, no need for high ISO

shooting above 800.

I've read every bit of literature out there on the web, and while the D300 seems to be touted as the second

coming, I can't seem to find an honest unhyped comparison of the image quality in average situations:

1 ) How does the image quality (noise in shadows particularly) compare between d200 and d300 at LOW

ISO? Everyone talks about the benefits of the CMOS sensor for high ISO situations, but I haven't heard

much honest discussion about low ISO comparison to D200.

2) Do you find the extra pixels to be helpful when printing large, making crops, or is the increase fairly

negligible? I've read reviews that say it's essentially not important and others that say it makes all the

difference.

I picked up a D200 with vertical grip and 1 year warranty for 1000 bucks yesterday - trying to decide if I

should keep it or return it and get a D300. My longterm plan is to get a D3, but I have some DX lenses so I

have to slowly make the transition over the next couple years. So, with money being an issue, not having

the glass I want now, and my D70 no longer acting as a stopgap solution, keep the d200 or take it back

and get a d300, knowing I'm going full frame in 18 months-2 years?

If you don't have a compelling reason to get the D300, stay with the D200. If it is meeting

your needs until you get a D3 (or similar) why upgrade? The D200 is a good camera.

You may want to check over at nikonians.org for a comparison. I know someone did a

noise comparison which I believe showed that at lower ISO the difference between the

D200 and D300 were not that great. If I find it I'll post the link.

I upgraded tot he D300 for the high ISO performance. Otherwise, the D200 was more than

adequate for me.