Folding Brownie No. 2A Restoration Question

Hi all,

I am very new to this forum and really to all things. I found an old (okay, very old) foldable brownie in a junk shop and am seriously considering buying it to play around with. It's actually in great condition on inspecting it except for the shutter. It sometimes works a but kind of just . . . hangs there. How difficult is it to restore/replace the shutter mechanism on these cameras? Do they generally just need cleaning or maintenance or I would I have to find a second Brownie for parts? Is this even possible? The camera is 90+ years old, but as I mentioned is in great condition otherwise.

Does any one have experience with this? I'm sorry, I'm a newbie and not very handy. So, I'd need things fairly broken down if you are so kind as to provide a how-to.

Thank you so much.

Czenzi

Hi Czenzi, Welcome to the forum.

There were two Kodak No.2A Folding Brownies, a 2A Folding Autographic Brownie and a 2A Folding Pocket Brownie. The 2A Folding Pocket Brownie is the simpler camera, the case resembles a rectangular box when folded and the film is loaded through a sliding door in the back. The 2A Folding Autographic Brownie is different in that the case is rounded (although some early examples have square corners), the bellows assembly is removed from the front to load film, and there will be a small folding door on the back to make use of Kodak's "Autographic" feature (basically a primitive date back).

Now the most common shutter to find on these cameras is the Kodak Ball Bearing shutter, this shutter is very reliable, but with excessive use they can simply wear out and they are not easily fixed at that point. Odds are there is simply dried lubricant in there, which a flush with some lighter fluid will clear, but you should be aware of the other possibility.