Hi,

I have been using 35mm for several years and now I want to try medium

format. I have pretty much decided on buying a used inexpensive camera

from ebay. I am finally debating between a YashicaMat and some of the

folders (Isolette and Ikonta). Though I believe the TLRs will have a

better quality but I can't ignore the portability of the folders

either as I would like to use it outdoors too. How much do I lose in

quality or some other repsect by using a folder? Will the Ikonta 520

or 515 compare well to say a Yashicamat?

I have tried looking elsewhere in the forums and didn't find an answer

to this question. If it has been discussed before then I would really

appreciate if someone can guide me to the relevant thread and excuse

me for my negligence.

Thanks

I think you'll find that working with either choice will be quite different than 35mm. I always feel more deliberate with the TLR. I have a few Zeiss folders and I like to carry them for their portability. Compared to the Rolleicords that are quite good. The Yashica lens you want are the Yashinons, from what I understand.

If deciding is difficult, try one of each. They are quite inexpensive and everyone should try a TLR sometime.

Yes, why not try both? And if you're looking for a folder on eBay, Jurgen Krekel's are

supposed to be great. It's his labor of love to take these 50+ year old cameras and restore

them into working condition. His "CLA'd" -- clean, adjusted and lubricated -- MF folders

are more expensive then the other ones offered on eBay but you can be certain that they're

going to work. I just won a Certo Six MF folder from him on eBay this week!

Jurgen's site:

www.certo6.com

I have both and prefer TLRs both for actual shooting and results.

Folders with 4 elements lenses, rangefinders and semi-auto film advance exist but are rare and expensive. Ordinary plain 'red window' are cheap, slow to use and usually have tiny viewer. Filters and hoods are also hard to find.