Fogged film

z_z1

I have just gotten a bunch of film processed and several of the negs

where fogged. Must have happened in the camera as the edges were

still clear as they should be.

On some of the pics I took I had put the film holder in the camera

and pulled the slide. Then I waited for the light to get right.

This could have taken several minutes. The exposures where around

1/15th of a second so not excessively long. On the neg, you could

still see the image, but fogged. This happened with both B&W and

color.

Sucks, it took me hours of heavy hiking up a mountain to get to the

spot I wanted. Fortunately not every picture was fogged so got

something out of it.

My question is do you normally leave the dark slide out when you are

waiting for the light, or just pull it out before you take the

pciture?

Eric

I'm not an expert (only been shooting LF for 4 months) but most likely to be light leaking in through bellows.

As you are getting sharp edges probably not the holders. But make sure the holders are numbered and the number of the holder goes on your notes so then its possible to track any faults back to a holder.

I always remove the DS as soon as I'm set up and while I'm waiting for the right moment. On one occasion (and only once) I removed the DS and waited for three minutes and at the crucial moment could not fire the shutter - I had left the iris open all that time while waiting and, heh presto, a tranny with nearly no detail on it.

Hope this helps but might get better advice from the many more experienced LFers here.