Focus recompose of sharp eyes?

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by dylan_park, Jan 14, 2017.

1. I am quite new to photography and have only just realised that the centre focusing point makes quite a difference when aquiring sharper pictures, which in my circumstance is full body of people, and specifically being sharp on the eyes. Initially i have been shooting in portrait mode, taking the focus point up to the top of the camera so it focuses on the eyes and so i can get the rest of the body in shot to. Not something i could do with the centre point as it wouldn't get the body in shot (more so head and shoulders).
    With focus recompose supposedly the aperture is better at 2.8 and up (i have a 1.4 lense) but how low is to low to have a higher chance of keeping my subject in focus when recomposing? Also if i do have the centre point on the eyes, hold down back button focus so the focus is kept for sharp eyes, and then recompose so i can get the whole body in, should this work ok, or am i doing it wrong? Would appreciate any advice

2. It's not entirely clear whether you're using full back button focus, or using the back button for focus holding only.
    There are three ways to focus and recompose (terminology differs with camera, but principle is the same)
    The first is to use single servo AF and single point focus. This will focus once, and as long as the shutter button is depressed, it will not track or refocus. You can recompose as long as you keep the shutter button halfway down, then fire. You don't need the back button at all for this.