Focus Issues With A Used Nikon D600

jaarmira

Recently (less than a month) bought a used Nikon D600, sadly i realized that no matter what i do (even using a tripod) my images came up blurry. I tested it with several lenses and all came up blurry, not terribly blurry, but blurry. I use the same lenses on a D7200, even hand held, with really sharp images. Thinking on returning it and probably getting a D750 instead.

Can anyone comment on what could have been wrong with the D600? Can this issue be fixed? I called a local camera dealer and they said to send it to Nikon, but they require a $300.00 deposit, which i think is too much.

I searched online extensively about the focus issue and found some advice to test the lenses for fine tuning (an option on the d600), but i don't feel confident on the performance of the d600 anymore.

Would the D750 be a better option? Maybe a D750 refurbished? ( i am a newbie in Photography, trying to learn more and become a professional)

Your comments are appreciated!

Quick test: if you focus the D600 in live view, are you getting sharp images? I assume it's blurry because something's wrong with the AF system calibration (or the mirror is broken!), but if live view causes blurriness as well, something more complicated is going wrong.

The D750 has better autofocus than the D600 (in the same class as the D7200), but you shouldn't be getting blurry images out of the older body, at least consistently across all lenses. You may be able to AF fine tune them to help, but if they're all significantly off, there's only so much you can change and it suggests something's wrong.

Thanks Andrew and Steve, for the comments. I guess returning it, is the right path at this point.

I am interested in a full frame, specially Nikon, since all my lenses are for Nikon.