Focus accuracy: Tamron 17-50 Vs Me Vs Canon 17-55

willhl

<p>I've been using my Tamron 17-50 for a few years now to shoot weddings, social events & portraits and I love the image quality but I lack confidence in it's focus accuracy under certain circumstances and I'm trying to determine if a lens or technique upgrade would give better results.<br>

The times I have the most issues are when focusing on more distant objects, from full body length @ 35mm and greater distance (including @ infinity), to the extent that I'm not comfortable shooting at f2.8 because I'm not certain it will focus accurately enough to be sharp. I'm mostly using the lens on a 50D and see the problem with both centre and outer focus points. I have the camera set-up to only focus with the AF button on the back and I typically use servo autofocus.<br>

I guess my questions are:</p>

<ol>

<li>Is there an issue with my technique that could be causing the issues?</li>

<li>Have other experience similar issues with the Tamron?</li>

<li>Does the Canon have been focus accuracy in the conditions I outlined above?</li>

</ol>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>Why do you use servo autofocus (I assume you mean AI Servo mode)? This is usually used for moving subjects and it tends to work best when the subject is moving at a constant speed and direction. It's much better with a subject that's some distance away and moving fast like a running dog or a moving car. It doesn't work as well with a subject that moves erratically and is unnecessary for still subjects. I think you would do much better using One Shot mode.</p>

<p>+1 for the one shot mode.</p>

<p>The only problem remaining would be the AF speed, I have compared the VC version of that lens (which is known to be faster Afing than the non VC version) to the canon 17 55 is, The canon is faster.</p>

I own that lens and have used it a ton on my crop body. Mine focuses great. And as a portrait lens I

actually prefer it over my 24-70 f/2.8 on my full frame.