Focal length and perspective

Discussion in 'Canon EOS' started by george_schafer, Nov 5, 2008.

1. I'm a student at NAU, and I have a two teachers with conflicting views on crop sensors and their effect on focal
    lengths. One teacher insists that because the sensor is smaller, it works much like going from 35mm to 4x5. So an
    85mm lens is a telephoto on a 35mm frame, though it's quite short on a 4x5 camera.

The other teacher insists that an 85mm lens is an 85mm lens, regardless. So the perspective from an 85mm lens is
    the same, no matter what.

This concerns me because I've been using a 50mm lens (80mm on a crop sensor body) as a portrait lens. Now I'm
    concerned that I'm not getting the perspective I want for my portraits.

So which is it, anybody?

2. Perspective, the size relationship between near and far objects, is goverened by position of the the lens and has nothing to do with focal length.

What does happen is the angle of view gets smaller as the sensor or film gets smaller.

Have no fear. The perspective of a formal portrait will be rendered correctly from a distance to the subject of about 5 feet. If you were to move in closer, the nose would start to appear to large in relation to the face and the reverse if you were to back away. There is considerable leaway before things start to look strange. To take in less subject, use a longer local length.

I would say both your teachers are correct. They just need to explain it better.

3. Perspective is a function of distance to subject and relative distance between camera/subject/background. If you
    stand in the same place and take the same picture, then crop to the same framing, perspective will be the same.
    It isn't really about the focal length or format size necessarily.

Format size and focal length combine to determine what angle of view a given lens will take in. Once you have