foam replacement X-700

zave_shapiro

I have a couple of X-700's, heavily brassed, broken frame counters,

old buddies. I saw someone use a lightly-used one and I realized

that by comparison when I fire 'em it sounds like a crowbar hitting a

concrete floor (not sick but LOUD). Is foam replacement indicated?

Is it a home job? I'd also welcome recommendations for reputable and

reasonable shops in the Calgary area (I'm in Banff). TIA!

I'm in the same boat as you (metaphorically speaking). My X-700 sounds like a tank, and the light seals are all melted away as well. So I bought one of those foam replacement kits on E-B*Y for about ten bucks.

I'm going to try doing it myself, but that's because i'm a hobbyist by nature and it's a backup body. If I depended on it as a primary camera, I would take it to a shop and get a proper cleaning & repair. They can also fix the counter problem (which all X-700's are plagued with).

Good Luck!

As I mentioned in another recent post:

I bought an X-700 a few months ago and shipped it to Garry's Camera (www.garryscamera.com) for a thorough cleaning and light seal replacement. He is located in Illinois. He keeps costs low because he does not have a store. He also fixed my XG-M about six months ago, and I'm a completely satisfied customer. I've seen various light foam kits available, but I'm not brave enough to do it myself. Plus, the X-700 is my main camera.

• 12 years later...