loukiq

Hello. I'm a newbie in Medium Format so sorry if my question is dumb. Just bought my Bronica ETRSi with the Speed Grip and I want to shoot some portraits on this set up. My plan is to use the PC cord to connect my Yongnuo 622 wireless controller to the camera and use Yongnuo 560IV flash for it. But I tried to mount the 622N-TX controller to the hot shoe on the speed grip but it didn't fell in place because the sockets [i don't know if I called them right, but they are the small metal parts that's supposed to come in contact with the metal plate in the hot shoe to transfer the electric signals from the camera to the controller/flash] cannot slide into the hot shoe. I don't know if it's because my speed grip's hot shoe is too old so it's rigid to slide on or I need to buy a hot shoe adapter like in the pictures to attach on the speed grip's hot shoe and then attach the controller on top of it? Of course I will need a PC sync cord to connect to the lens. I'm not sure if this is a right set up or I'm just an idiot. Please give me some advice on this. I want to use the camera with off-camera flash for more control in lightning. Thank you!JSC2.jpgJSC2a.jpg
  • Like 1

Jeez, what a twerp in that video! Blah, blah, blah for 3' 15" to impart about 15" worth of info. None of it is rocket science.

You just have to accept that you'll get no flash automation at all with an old film camera and a modern flash. You have to work completely with manual control of flash 'power'. The plus point is that all that's needed by way of flash synch is to connect the camera's P-C socket to the centre-pin of a hotshoe adapter. None of the other connections will do anything.

I've plugged Canon flashes into Nikon cameras and vice-versa. I've also used Sunpak, Metz, Toshiba, Osram, Nissin, YongNuo and other brands of flash with all sorts of cameras.