Flash compatibility for Rebel XT Digital Camera

steven_young

Hi Bob & Steve & all,

Thank you for your question & answer above..:)

I am a newbie and have just got a 400d eos and want to either purchase a flash (with limited funds), or use one I purchased with a pentax slr. Its a SUNPAK multi dedicated thyristor auto 2000DZ. I also got an ACHIEVER 300DX with the pentax,(which says it is for a pentax program).

*I would like a flash to give me an overall fill of my outdoor/indoor photo's without having to enter full-time college and have a degree in photography..even though I am studying intro courses etc..:)Please forgive my ignorance too..:) Many thanks..:)

<p>Carol, have a look at the hot shoes on your two flash units. <a href="http://www.botzilla.com/photo/g1strobe.html" target="_blank">This page</a> has some info about how to tell a dedicated flash from a non-dedicated flash, and the potential problems of using a dedicated flash with a camera of a different brand. The description of your Sunpak sounds like it probably has (well, has available; chances are you have to buy each one individually) a series of interchangeable adapters to go on its foot so that it can be used with a variety of cameras, but the chances that it will have one that works with a Canon DSLR are pretty slim.</p>

<p>If the flash unit is nondedicated (or if you make it nondedicated by covering the extra connectors with something nonconductive like electrical tape), then the next question is whether the trigger voltage is safe. Have a look at <a href="http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html" target="_blank">this list</a> to see if your flash units' trigger voltages are listed. If they're under 250V, they're OK on the 400D; if they're over 250V, they're not (and you'll need to use something like a Safe Sync). If the flash unit isn't dedicated and you happen to have a voltmeter handy, you can measure it yourself; the first page I cited has instructions.</p>