First Wedding - Amateur, I'm nervous, PLEASE HELP!

mm1664876068

I am an amateur (actually, super-newbie)shooting my first wedding for

a friend. There will be a professional there, but only for the

formals, but I'd like to try to do some formals as well. I won't be

getting paid for this, but I would like to do a bang-up job!

The ceremony will be outdoors near a lagoon & the reception will be

indoors at the recreational center. I will be using a Canon 7e with

550EX, lumiquest, 24-85mm f3.5-4.5, 70-210mm f2.8, 50mm f1.8. No

tripod. Backup will be a Rebel G body.

I want to do the best I can, but I need some honest advice. Could

someone please give me advice on the following? I APPRECIATE ANY/ALL

PROFESSIONAL/AMATEUR TIPS:

Type of film: I've seen threads saying that Fuji NPH 400 rated at

320 and Kodak T400CN will be appropriate.

Should I stick with manual or auto focus? If auto, which priority?

Shutter: any info please!

Flash: indoor & outdoor? Sync at?

I appreciate all your responses and will let you know how they go. I

will be doing a test run the next couple of days and see how they

come out and will post my results. Thanks in advance!

first of all good luck and try and relax. i was in your situation a couple years ago, and shot almost everything with a 50mm set at f8 and manually focused with flash for all the indoor photos. the time of day will govern your lens selection and the use of fill flash. you might consider putting your zoom on your backup body and leaving it at 85mm for quick head and shoulder shots. i did something similar to this and i was able to quickly shift from one camera to the other. carrying your two cameras should not be much trouble. your selection of kodak t400cn is a good choice. it went over well for me.

ok.. lets see... you seem to have the gear for it.. I will assume you have atleast a basic knowledge of the cameras and lenses, so from there....