first time to be paid for taking portraits of a baby, how much should I charge?

<p>An old friend that I've been in touch with on facebook recently had a baby and asked if I would come over and take pictures of him. She wants to pay me but I'm not sure how much to ask for. I do have some experience shooting kids and babies but i've never done it for profit before. I plan on getting the prints done through MPIX, so I will definitely have her pay for that. Because I'm just starting out I wasn't sure if I should not charge her at all, or if I should charge a small amount. I will be driving about 25-30 miles to get there, and spending a couple of hours shooting. If anyone has any opinions on how much I should charge that would be much appreciated. Thanks!</p>

<p>Natalie,<br>

Here are my thoughts. Most "newbies" want to start out cheap to get work initially and then raise prices once they're established. Because personal photography tends to be more of a referral business, your prices will be circulated along with all of your other good features such as quality, ease to work with, etc. If you don't charge enough to start with, you'll get stuck in a rut that will be very difficult to get out of later on. Everyone loves a deal and everyone loves to brag about it, no matter how much you ask them to keep quiet about it because they're "special."<br>

I don't think it's wise to ever charge a client of any type what you pay your lab or for them to even know what you pay your lab. All this does in devalue what you're selling. If the lab charges $2.50 for an 8x10, that's only what you pay the lab. What about retouching and enhancements. What about file preparation and shipping? And do you package them nicely? There's also shipping or delivery time and expense. If your friend pays you $2.50 or even double that, how will you ever expect to charge the going rate?<br>