First time film

<p>I've been shooting digitally for a while now, but I'm a complete novice when it comes to film. Tomorrow I've got a Minolta SRT-100X arriving in the mail. It's an all-manual SLR nearly the same as what I used when I borrowed my dad's Minolta as a teenager. I'm excited about getting back to basics.</p>

<p>My question is: what film should I put in it? I was thinking 400 speed black and white. Is Kodak Tri-X a good choice? Where should I get the film developed? I'm in London, UK. If I could get digital files at the end of the process at would be a plus.</p>

<p>I don't have specific plans for what I want to shoot yet. I just want to get a feel for film first. I like natural light portraits and general urban, outdoor photography. At this time of the year in the UK there's not a lot of light to work with however.</p>

<p>Most film processors these days will scan your negs to a CD for you so you can do what you like with them digitally. Surely Ilford will do the same. I am with John on this one, shoot Ilford HP5+ and have Ilford process and scan to CD for you. Couldn't ask for a better setup.</p>

<p>I've never been in love with XP2 or any chromogenic film (though I've taken some good shots with them), but I've always liked HP5+ and Tri-X, and since John mentioned Ilford has b/w processing available in the UK, as long as you can get a digital file of the shots you could even compare all of them and see which you like best.</p>

<p>IF you are going to use digital processing after you shoot the negative, just use any decent color negative film. You shouldn't have any trouble with your Minolta, but with older cameras sometimes the speeds don't go high enough to use ISO 400 film. It's easier to shoot color, and frankly gives you more options, when you do the conversion to B&W in software after the fact.</p>

<p>I think it is also usually cheaper.</p>

<p>If you really want to shoot BW, then get a tank, changing bag, and do your own processing.</p>