first-time Bar Mitzvah pricing

anna_spector

I'm shooting my first Bar Mitzvah this Saturday and I have no idea how much to

charge. I have never shot weddings before either (the woman who asked me to do

this does know that). I'm still a student and I have relatively limited

equipment (Canon XTi with 5g worth of memory cards, a tripod, and a remote, plus

whatever furniture I can stand on). The event seems pretty informal (for a Bar

Mitzvah); it is in a reform temple, and the majority of the kids who will be

there are involved in circus acting, so part of the after-party will be a circus

show followed by a party in the museum they rehearse in. It seems pretty

unconventional and the mom doesn't want anything too formal (no table shots,

etc). The shoot is a service Saturday morning, the circus show and party

Saturday afternoon/evening, and possibly a rehearsal on Friday (she hasn't

gotten back to me on that yet). I have been to several Bar/Bat Mizvahs but it

was way back in the day (when I was 13 there was one literally every weekend).

Based on my level of experience (I am a photography student and I work part-time

for a local newspaper, which is how I met the mom in the first place, but have

never done a wedding/mitzvah before), how much can/should I charge for this?

What is the range? I don't plan to charge as much as a professional photog

would, but I do need to charge enough to make it worth my time. Any and all

advice is welcome!!!

Thanks!

Anna