First Studio Lights: Norman D24, Calumet Elite 2, or Profoto Acute 2R 2400

j.lewis.photo

I'm a serious photo student about to invest in my first set of studio lights.

I want a powerpack and strobe setup, and a high quality system that I can

build on for many years. I'm considering the Profoto Acute2R 2400, the Norman

D24(w/ pocket wizard built-in), or the Calumet Elite 2 2400. I'm also open to

other suggestions.

What I do: I like product photography and want to pursue it as a career.

I've been taking senior portraits at a studio for 1.5 years. I shoot with a

Sinar F1 4x5 camera, a Mamiya RB67, and a Nikon D200 digital. I consider

myself very technical and tend to try to push the technical envelope much

farther than the artistic one. I don't doubt that I'd use all 2400 w/s of any

of these powerpacks. I'd also like to use this studio setup for taking

portraits.

I know most of the specs pretty well (except for with the Calumet). Power is

equal, the Profoto has only 3 head outlets, while the others have 4, the

profoto has a slower flash duration (1/320th) at max power than the Norman

(1/800th). The calumet doesn't have a built in pocketwizard. I do want

wireless control, fussing with sync cords in front of clients is embarassing.

Recycle times are all with in 1/3 second, the Calumet doesn't have a switch on

its optical slave, and it's also the heaviest. Student discount prices put

the Profoto w/ 2 heads at $2650, the Norman at $2465, and the Calumet at $2450

+ the cost of a pocketwizard transceiver. Accessories will be much more

expensive for the profoto, but higher quality. Also the Profoto has less

convenient power adjustment, but is also 5-8 pounds lighter than the

competition. I do place some value on portability.

What I don't know and what I would like to hear, are some testimonials

from people with experience with these. I've worked with the Profoto packs,

and lower quality Normans(808, P500s, etc.). The Profoto seems to be the