First Sony DSLR a suggestion

m_m7

<p>Hi.Film was (and still is) my big love as well as old mechanical cameras.Since I have few Minolta AF lenses (20,28/f2,35/f2,50/f1.4,100mm macro,100mm/soft focus,28-135 and 85mm/f1.4) I though to give a try to a Sony DSLR.<br>

I plan to use it for my kids mostly and casual events.So I guess it should focus sufficiently fast and have simple interface (like a dedicated WB and exposure compensation buttons ).Probably below 1000 if possible.<br>

I am asking since I have no experience with Sony digital,just with the Maxxum cameras .Thank you in advance</p>

<p>Nice stash of lenses. Have you checked prices on them lately? You might be pleasantly surprised. ;-)</p>

<p>Any camera will provide you with what you want, but all under $1000 have an APS-sized sensor. So, each lens will provide a FOV 1.5x longer. So, your widest lens will be 30mm equivalent. You may need to grab a lens like a 17-50 2.8 zoom to backfill your range.</p>

<p>Full frame will cost you around $1800.</p>

<p>The big differences in the current models is live view and movie mode. You should do some research and decide if you need those features.</p>

<p>Greg</p>

<p>Hello Mihail,<br>

All generations of Minolta/Maxxum AF lenses and a vast majority of accessories will work on the Alpha series cameras. I have been a Minolta/Maxxum user since the seventies. About 18 months ago I was in a similar situation, I had 3 Maxxum film Bodies and wanted to make the full jump to digital. I have a lot of lenses also, So I bought a Alpha 100, Then in february I upgraded to a A700.There is a great site for Minolta/Sony users www.dyxum.com that has Alot of information on Alpha Cameras and lenses and various equipment. you can see the individual specs on the current and past alpha models. Hope this helps Phil</p>