First model shoot, suggestions?

john_ashby2

<p>I'm taking a course in Portrait photography and we have our first shoot coming up in a couple of days. The problem is the class hasn't covered actually composing a picture yet. For the purpose of the course, the teacher seems to think exposure settings are beyond us and that's what she wants us to focus on for the assignment. Composition wasn't even mentioned. <br>

I have very little experience taking pictures of people, particulairly positioning the person. How can I make the best use of the opportunitiy for my own benefit and some portfolio shots. The session will be 5-7pm outdoors in a historic neighbourhood. I'm not sure what the access to models will be like, it's about 8 photographers per model.</p>

<p>Thanks.</p>

<p>John</p>

<p>Let me give you a couple of quick compositional "rules" for general portraiture that will also work most of the time for model/beauty/fashion photography. It really is best to know the basic "rules" of composition. You can find all sorts of ideas on the internet or in books. What was once thought to be unique or “cutting-edge” portraiture is now so common as to be considered as trite by many. Think how often you see tilted (shot at an angle or later tilted) subjects or recognizable use of HDR. The more photographers try to be different, the more they become the same. Some photographers want their images to be unique -- to be different from what other photographers shoot. They try to move away from conventional composition and design elements. The elements of design or composition can influence how we perceive the picture. They have a predictable affect on viewers. The further you move away from the conventional, the further you move away from what is known to work. We get the term “ compositional rule” in photography because it is a design element that has been shown to consistently work. Once you know what you are doing you can break the "rules" for a reason -- a desired effect.</p>