First big sporting event!! What lens(es)? 70-200 on dx VS. 300mm on fx??

admir_cirkic

<p>I am a fairly new photographer (about 6 months with a dslr) and going to shoot a professional soccer match coming weekend. I used only 70-200mm at college games, because I was able to move around and capture action both ways, switched couple of times the lens for different shots. So this is my first pro game shooting, got kind of lucky getting the credential. And it is for a foreign news paper/website as well so I want to deliver the best of the best possible!!<br>

So I own a Nikon d600 and a 50mm 1.8g lens. I want regardless of this event to buy the 70-200mm f2.8 vr ii from Nikon and using that during game for the closer action to midfield maybe. In addition I planned on renting a second body with either the 300mm f2.8 (on fx) or 70-200mm (on dx body) for the further away action? Big question nr1: will the cropped frame with 70-200 lens get close to the performance of "300mm" and bring similar detail or so? or will there be a big difference between using the 300 prime vs 70-200 on crop sensor??<br>

Also what other lenses do you guys recommend (thinking about adding 24-70 f2.8 for game begin/fans/stadium) or is there a better combination to have on field (than 70-200 + 300?, maybe 400 instead)!! (low budget alternative?!!)<br>

Thanks.</p>

<p>Keep it simple. You'll find yourself using one body and lens most of the time, it's a pain switching back and forth. 80-200 isn't long enough for soccer. You'll need at least 300 on a Dx camera. Give some thought to the 80-400, a very good and versatile lens for outdoor sports.</p>

<p>Rick H.</p>