Filters for B&W film in street photography setting

asimrazakhan

<p>I'm new to B&W film. I will be traveling in the middle east next month. I will be taking with me Ilford HP5 400 that I plan to have sent to dr5 to turn into slides when I return to the US. Until now I've been using strictly color slide film such as Velvia and Provia with excellent results. Once I used Scala with no filters and was quite happy.</p>

<p>My question is... for normal street/travel photography, what filter should I keep on my lenses at all times? (red, yellow, orange, blue?)</p>

<p>What filter is the most versatile that will give me all-round better results for the following situations:<br>

-people in their natural environment (some portraits)<br>

-all photos with available light... indoor and outdoor<br>

-alleyways and markets... would not really include skies<br>

-some buildings of interest... may include some skies</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Yellow works well with people. A strong red will do a great job of increasing contrast to emphasize shadows. Red and oranges will do well with the sky, because the sky is blue [orange is opposite of blue]. Blue filters do a great job with glass and varnish and other shiny surfaces [might do well with a glassy skyscraper or windows on the street]; the only major detraction of the blue filters is that they are usually strong, and will have a big filter factor [often 8X]; they'll require longer exposures.</p>

<p>However, there will be two basic rules for black and white filter selection; they're really simple.</p>

<p>1. To emphasize a subject; look at its color; pick a filter that's close in color. <br>

2. To reduce, "knock back" or "play down" a subject; look at its color; pick the opposite. <br>

To check, simply hold the filter up to your face, and flash it into your line of sight for a second. </p>