Film Not Rewinding - It's Actually Breaking

<p>I am brand new to film photography in that this is my first experience using a completely manual camera. The only camera I had prior was an old Vivitar 35mm point and shoot. Anyway, I bought a used Fujica manual camera for a B/W Photography class. The film loads fine (at least it appears to since I feel tension when advancing and can see the wheel turn on top of the camera). The problem arises when I attempt to rewind a roll (this has happened a couple of times). I press the film release, go to rewind in the direction of the little arrow and I feel a lot of tension and then SNAP, the film breaks. I'm hoping to salvage my latest roll (at least the majority) because I opened the back a crack, saw that it was broken and shut the back. The film is not expired either.</p>

<p>Does anyone have any advice or ideas as to why my film won't rewind?</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Many cameras require you to hold in the rewind release the whole time you are rewinding. Just pushing it in once is not enough.<br>

If you feel the tension, then STOP - if you have to force it, it is most likely that you are doing something wrong or that something has gone wrong.</p>

<p>In my experience, it isn't that cameras require holding the button in the whole time you rewind. On some of them the button won't stay in if you didn't completely cock the shutter the last time you advanced the film, i.e if you ran into the end of the roll before you could swing the advance lever all the way around. The button is linked to the toothed roller in the film path, and as soon as it starts to turn backward from the rewinding film the button pops out. You can test this by winding the film back a little way, enough so that you can finish the film advance stroke, and then see if it pops out again when you start rewinding again.</p>

You know what, that is exactly what happened in each case.. I took the last picture, pulled the advance lever and it did not advance fully..