Film development questions

Hello CMC members,

I've seen a lot of fine film images here, most of which were processed by you. I am thinking of dipping my toe into film processing, but am nervous about royally screwing it up - so I'd be grateful if I could seek your advice with regard to a few points:

1. I'm buying a plastic Paterson tank and a stainless steel tank to try them out and see which suits me better. From my reading, people seem evenly divided between the two. Any advice or recommendations?

2. There seems to be a bewildering range of chemistry for BW - what do you use, and why? And for a total newbie like myself, what would be a simple regimen to start with? I've read that Diafine is forgiving in terms of temperature, but are there any downsides to it? Are there better/simpler options? I figure that given the steep learning curve at the beginning, my criteria for success in the initial rolls are just to get decently developed negatives without streaks or blobs.

3. I have a very small workspace - is this a limiting factor?

4. I suppose that in addition to the reels, I'll need a changing bag and the developing chemicals. Anything else I will need?

5. Are there any links, articles or books that you've found helpful when starting out with film processing?

Thanks in advance for any help or recommendations you might be able to offer.

Raj

Hello everyone. Raj you are about to embark on a groovy, fun time ! . . .and it is not all that complicated or doom.

1. Get a 450ml Nikor Stainless steel tank with cap. (1) each 35mm & 120mm reel should keep you happy for some time.