<P>

FomaPan 100<P>

Classic 200<P>

JandC in 4x5<P>

and Gigabitfilm in 4x5<P>

What I am mostly interested in is what sort of contrast they give,

how much resolving power they have, how they react to different

developers (especially PKM, Micordol, Rodinal), do they reproduce a

full tonal scale, what end of the light spectrum they are on, etc.

Basically I want the Darkroom data guide book on them, and also what

you have found they work best for.

<p>

Thanks a million,

Mark

Mark, While I have no personal experience with these films. There is some information which has been posted by users on the Michaelandpaula.com website. It is probably not as technical in nature as what you have indicated. However the general consensus that I have heard is that the films offered by J and C are very good. The users seem to be mostly sheet film users and pyro developer users as well.

Without going into any great detail, I have used FomaPan in 120 roll film and Classic 400 in 8x10. They are both old-style emulsions that do well in the staining developers I use. I probably won't use the FomaPan in roll film all that much--the Ilford and Kodak products are finer grained. However, the sheet film is well suited to the alternative process work I do, and the price is right.

I've used all of the ones you mention except for Gigabit film in formats from 6 x 6 cm to 8 x 10. The JandC Classic and Foma films are too grainy for my taste if not making contact prints, although the only developer I use is ABC pyro. You may get much more grainless images with other developers. In sheet film sizes, JandC Classic 200 is very easy to control from N-2 to N+2 using time and dilution and yields a beautiful scale. I rate it at 50. I wouldn't try to push it any more than 2 stops though. At a certain point you hit the DMax wall.