Feedback Needed re: D90 or D300s & lens selections - best choices for budget?

nicole_litalien

<p>Hi All,<br>

I've already done a search on the forum and of course lots of googling which has me leaning towards upgrdaing to a D300s (I'm currently a D40X user) in lieu of a D90 but I'm hoping to get a bit more feedback in regards to some questions I have about doing so given my projected budget and whether I'm leaning towards to the right choice (ahhh, if only money were no object!).<br>

Here's a bit of background with respects to some details that may influence my choice(s) and your suggestions:<br>

1. I primarily shoot <strong>dog sport action shots</strong> (both indoor & outdoor); I am therefore often working with <strong>poor/low light or overcast conditions</strong> and/or <strong>working in the elements</strong> (rain, snow, cold, etc).<br>

2. I currently use mostly M settings<br>

3. I take alot of shots...I'm not just a monthly hobbyist although I am also not a pro by any means ;)<br>

4. My lens collection at this time is (all nikon): 18-55; 50 1.4; 55-200. I'm also wanting to add a 70-200 to the collection (see below).<br>

So, in a nutshell, I'm trying to decide between going with a:<br>

A. D90 & a Nikon 70-200 lens (version one) or<br>

B. D300s and a Sigma 70-200<br>

I am feeling as though the 70-200 would be a step in the right direction...I know the Nikon is a better lens choice over the Sigma but remember cost is factoring into my decision at this point.<br>

D300s has alot of features that I think would serve me well for what I shoot most, but I also like the though of spending the money on a quality lens over a camera body.... <br>

And of course, being in Canada, I'm unfortunately apt to pay much more.<br>

So...thoughts? Thanks in advance for any feedback - I really do appreciate it.</p>