Fed-3, because rangefinders are fun

I've had a couple of Zorkis, and years ago a Yashica electro 35 that had a truly marvelous lens. Recently I found a CLA'd Fed-3 at a good price, and it came yesterday. Controls all smooth, camera is a bit worn but very clean and attractive. One thing: 500th to 125th are fine, but I can't seem to get shutter speeds lower than 125th. I'm familiar with Leicaskis, I've read the manual and know to cock the shutter before changing the shutter speed. But I can't seem to get 1/60th or 1/30th. The camera is in such nice condition that I think the camera is OK but the operator (me) is doing something wrong. Any ideas? TIA! --ken

... Recently I found a CLA'd Fed-3 at a good price, and it came yesterday. Controls all smooth, camera is a bit worn but very clean and attractive. One thing: 500th to 125th are fine, but I can't seem to get shutter speeds lower than 125th. ... But I can't seem to get 1/60th or 1/30th. ... Any ideas?

I am by no means an expert on Fed-3 cameras - or any LTM for that matter - but I do know you should NEVER change the shutter speed on a Fed-3 unless the shutter is advanced. Doing so can damage the shutter.

• Like 1

When you come to a fork in the road, take it ...

– Yogi Berra

... you should NEVER change the shutter speed on a Fed-3 unless the shutter is advanced.

Yes, Bill, I've got that part. This is my third Soviet rangefinder, comrade, from people's heroic Krasnoyarsk Tractor and Optical Factory! ;-) Something else seems to be going on, but since the camera seems excellent in every other way, I'm puzzled, and I tend to doubt it's the camera itself. And one thing I've learned the hard way (on an old Yashica TLR) is not to try to force anything--if a control doesn't move easily. turning it harder is not the right solution. :-)

It isn't a big deal--I'd like to have 1/60th as the slowest speed if it has to be limited, but I like the camera, so I'll be OK even if I don't resolve the shutter speed issues.