Fed-2 and Tri-X 400

<p>I'm a color photographer who loves what you guys do in B&W. So at the recommendation of people in this forum, I tried Tri-X. I had a roll of T-Max a while back which I liked, and the Ilford XP-2 has not yet been developed.</p>

<p>My $25 Fed-2 / Industar 26 was quite finicky when I first got it, with the shutter sticking open a bit over half the time, and the rangefinder completely out of calibration. I used lighter fluid "solvent" on the shutter rails, which as my partner says, "solves" many camera problems. The shutter fires well now, with all 36 shots coming in exposed properly. I left it at 1/250th for the whole roll, knowing that with ASA 400 I'd have lots of light.</p>

<p>The rangefinder I re-calibrated per some articles out on the 'net, digging under the top screw, fiddling with the internal flange that recalibrates, and aiming at all sorts of things to get infinity set right. Then there's the bit about the roller (?) inside the lens mount area to work with until 1 Meter is set. Back and forth a few times, and I got it. All exposures on the roll were focused as planned.</p>

<p>Tri-X is a bit grainy for my taste. But it does give quite a retro look. </p>

<p>My favorite shot is the gentleman and his dog. This was a "snap" shot, in that I spotted him waiting for the crosswalk while riding my bike home from work. I had to ditch the bike, negotiate a photo, guess an exposure (f/5.6 in bright shade on a black guy?), frame, focus and shoot, ALL BEFORE THE LIGHT CHANGED. That's "snap" in my book; I usually take a few minutes per shot. The error in the shot is the framing, which if I could do it again would allow more margins left and bottom. </p>

<p>Anyhow, here are some results. NCPS processing and scanning. Very little post-processing, mainly cropping and bit more contrast in some shots.</p>