fashion photography and manipulation

nina_ginger

<p>Hello all fashion photographers,<br /> <br /> I am not a fashion photographer but love fashion photography and I am writing my thesis about it.<br>

<br /> I wanted to ask you all what are your thoughts about manipulation/retouching in fashion photography: <br /> do you think manipulating pictures is a marketing tool used by fashion designers/magazines to rise sales and should it be disclosed when performed?<br /> do you think fake pictures for commercial purposes (as showing garments is the main function) are what customers want to see? <br /> what does manipulation mean to you, photographers? is it a form of artistic expression that allows photography to create something new and original? why are we seeing so many fashion images that are so far from reality?<br /> <br /> I can't wait to read what your thoughts are! as I'm not an expert you would be really helpful!<br /> <br /> Nina</p>

<p>Your thesis should be about advertising and marketing. As long as you understand the nature of advertising and marketing, photography in the fashion industry will make sense to you. It's nothing new, it probably goes back to the first merchants of fashion. And I agree that nobody cares about how the photograph was done, it's about how it looks.</p>

<p>My mom worked as a commercial artist in the fashion advertising department of a major department store in the early 1950's. I still have some of her renderings. When I was a kid in the 1960's she explained how the drawings of the women in these ads were nowhere near the dimensions of a real woman. She even had an "fashion art book" that instructed artists in how to lengthen necks, elongate faces, narrow waists, make the women much taller and thinner, etc. It's been going on long before photography was used in fashion world.</p>

<p>Best,<br>

-Tim</p>