Family Portrait Lenses

tonyia_karwanski

<p>I shoot with a Nikon D3000, which I have had for over a year. I learned all the basics and have been using manual to shoot everything. However, up to this point I have only been using the kit lens (18-55mm 3.5-5.6). I would like to add some new glass. I already know that I want a 50mm 1.8 AF-S. I think this would be great for normal single person portraits. But I would like some feed back on family portrait lenses. Im thinking 8 people. I would also like some feedback on a nice landscape lens. Please keep in mind that I am a full time student, single mom on a budget...I cannot afford a $5,000 lens. So please dont suggest lenses that cost more than my car, lol. Thanks in advance for all who help.</p>

<p>Hi Tonyia, to fill the frame of a 50mm lens you have to get in very close to the subject, If i were you I would think about the new 85mm 1.8 that Nikon has just announced, it's around $499. I use the 16-85mm for all my landscape work, I don't find myself wanting to go any wider that's not to say you won't.</p>

<p>You can use *any* lens for a portrait lens. I've seen very creative shots with every focal length from 14mm - 300mm. But for a basic, use-anywhere, fast lens, that can also be used for family portraits, I'd suggest the 35mm f/1.8G DX. It's around $200-$250, so it won't break the bank.</p>

<p>For landscape work, I'll suggest you use your 18-55mm unless you need wider. I'd bet that, without looking at EXIF data, you couldn't tell the difference between a $1300 17-55mm f/2.8 and your 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 "kit" lens when stopped down to f/8 or f/11. I'd only go with a better lens if you've determined that you need wider than 18mm regularly.</p>

<p>RS</p>

<p>+1 for Richard's recommendation.</p>