Family Hearthside Shot

al_derickson

<p>I'm a rank amateur at lighting but I'd like try try a shot of my small family sitting at the hearthside with the Christmas tree to one side. I'd like a warm romantic effect with the flames of the fire visible as well as the lights of the Christmas tree. I have a Nikon D7100 and a SB800 and a SB600 but initial tests with flash were not encouraging. Perhaps some low wattage incandescents might be better? Any suggestion or tips would be welcome. Thanks.</p>

<p>Al</p>

<p>All you need to do is extend your shutter speed to capture the flames of the fire Al. About 1/15th second should be plenty long enough. Don't let the camera choose the shutter speed for you. You might also want to dial down the flash compensation a little - perhaps minus 1/2 a stop.</p>

<p>Edit: Forgot to mention that you'll need to keep both camera and family still for the length of the exposure. 1/15th second or longer really needs a tripod or other steadying device rather than being handheld.</p>