F2A meter not working. View finder still ok?

spanky

Hi Everyone,

I'm still considering picking up a 2nd hand Nikon body and prime lens and am leaning towards a F2A. I've noticed at

KEH there are a number of these and other models that are described as excellent expect for a non-working meter.

This is OK with me since I plan to use Sunny 16 as for my exposures and occasionally my hand held incident meter

which I use with my RZ. Since price is a factor (when is it not?) I'm tempted to purchase such a body but just want

to know if this affects the view finder any. I don't think it would but I've never used Nikon before. Furthermore, it is kind

of alarming why there are several on the site that also don't have working meters. Was this a common issue with

these or is there perhaps impact or moisture damage I should be concerned about? I've ordered from KEH many

times and trust them, but still I'd feel less reluctant to put an order in until I hear from some of you long time users of

this camera.

Thanks,

Marc.

Oh one last question too. Does one get a lot of curvature with the 28mm lenses? I'm trying to decide between this

and a 35mm.

The F2 series cameras had a problem with the ring-resistor in meter wearing out after

years of use. Nikon replaced the carbon ring with a wire ring but they still failed after

years of use. The F2 is excellent without a working meter. Check out Sover Wong's site

for meter repairs:

http://www.geocities.com/sover_wong/Nikon_F2_Repair_Service.html

The 28mm will not show a 'lot' of curvature but is handy for shots of a roomfull of

people with flash. I use a 35mm except for small rooms. My F2AS is over 30 years

old and meter still works fine.

/Clay