F100 vs N90

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by david_krivan, Nov 8, 2011.

1. I have been shooting film with N6006 bodies for 20 years, but I am starting to find these 20 year old cameras to be unreliable. I thought maybe getting a newer Nikon film SLR would be the way to go. I have heard that the build quality of the N90 is better than the newer F100, but a lot of people seem to recommend the F100 as the best non professional Nikon film SLR. Any suggestions on which camera would be best? I only shoot a couple rolls a month, max. I was thinking of getting a SB400 speedlight. These have iTTL capability which means the F100 or N90 light meter will communicate with the flash to adjust output appropriately? Thanks for your help.

2. An N90 or N90s will be the cheapest option; they can be found for less than $50. Another plus is that the controls are similar to the N6006 you're accustomed to.
    As for the flash, the SB-400 only works in its iTTL mode with digital bodies. On a film camera it'd be Manual only. A similar sized flash for a film camera would be Nikon's SB-23. I see one on eBay right now with a Buy It Now price of $45.
    I prefer the F100 over the N90/s but it's easy for me to make that choice because I have both sitting on the shelf.

3. Ergonomically, the F100 is a better camera, and has faster AF, and I think of it as the "F5 lite".

4. "I was thinking of getting a SB400 speedlight. These have iTTL capability which means the F100 or N90 light meter will communicate with the flash to adjust output appropriately?"
    No. The SB-400 is iTTL only, which means it will not work with the film based TTL flash system of either the F100 or N90s. The only film camera that supports iTTL is the F6. If you want a flash that supports both film based TTL and digital iTTL, then you'll need to look for either a SB-600 or SB-800.
    Personally, unless the difference in price is a strong deciding factor, I would recommend a F100 over an N90 any day of the week.