Exposure Compensation

all-star sports photograph

<p>Can you use exposure compensation in manual mode? I have tried it and it doesn't seem to do anything. I know it works in AP and or SP mode.</p>

<p>I'm shooting in low light at ISO 2000, f2.8, and 1/320 with a D300. I can't slow the shutter down any further as I'm shooting moving people. I really would even like to be a little faster on the shutter but this speed is ok.</p>

<p>Sorry, if this seems to be a "well no duh" situation. I'm still fairly new to photography and still learning how to use all the tricks.</p>

<p>David,</p>

<p>Yes you can use the exposure compensator in M mode on the D300.</p>

<p>It sounds to me that you are trying to freeze the action and thus need to raise the speed of the shutter to capture the motion of people moving. Using the exposure compensator is not going to do it for you. You need to lift the shutter speed faster. Try cranking the D300 up to ISO 3200 if you are already at max. aperture.</p>

<p>Charles is right. In A or S, exposure compensation changes the automated setting (shutter speed in A, aperture in S) to give you the change you have dialed in.<br>

In M, you manually control the whole lot, but what exposure compensation does is give you the 'bias' you want in your viewfinder exposure meter so that you can still aim for the 'zero' point with your setting and get the exposure you want.<br>

In short no it does not affect the image, but it is still useful in helping you choose your own manual settings.<br>

Practical example - You are set at EV=0 and are showing a 'correct' exposure in your little meter, at f/8 and 1/100 shutter speed. If you then move to EV= -1, the little metre will show you as one stop overexposed and to regain centre you will need to move to 1/200 (or alternately to a smaller aperture, depending on your choice).</p>