expired tri-x, what to expect?

macaluan

Hi guys, how is going?

well, I was searching for a good price 5 rolls pack of kodak TRI-X 120. That's very expensive in Europe at least, about 50€ the pack, so I decided maybe to keep using Ilford HP5+. But in my research, I found in eBay a shop selling a TRI-X 5 rolls pack expired in november 2019. I'm very new in film photography so maybe is to early to sumerge in the expired world, but as the price is about 5€ i'm tempted.

What should I expect with these expired films?, for my knowledge, they should be fine as they expired just 6 months ago. But I wanna let experts talk about it. Another question about expired films is what people usally use them, its just for experimentations or do you use for photography that matter to you? I'm not talking about important jobs but about family photography but where you want to get good results.

Tri-X a year or two out of date should be fine unless it was stored under bad conditions--desert heat, for example. Try one roll to experiment, then you'll know if you can trust the other 4. If you are using it for commercial work, suck it up and buy fresh film and bill your clients accordingly.

I've been using expired B&W films for over 20 years now, and only once did I have an issue. Some of the films I use today expired 10 years ago (kept in a freezer) and are no longer manufactured, so I cherish still using them. They don't die instant deaths....they mostly fade away if not properly stored.

Thanks for the information guys, unfortunately the guy who sales the Trix expired, told me that the price were only for each roll, and no for the pack. Which sounds very expensive to me.

Anyway I would like to take advantage of the post to find out if there is a film or technique to get a look similar to trix 400,or for example, using fp4 pushed 2 stops or something like that