Equipment ideas, please

robert_wayt

<p>I currently own a D200 with a 12-24 and 18-200 VR (all Nikon). Most of the time I shoot nature (including some closeup), travel and family. Although certainly not a pro, I am a passionate amateur and shoot when my work and leisure schedule allows; my number of shutter actuations since purchasing the D200 about four years ago is 23,000, if that helps.<br>

Anyway, I want to upgrade my equipment to achieve higher overall quality and would appreciate your suggestions. My budget is $5,000 max for new purchases. For what it is worth, I am likely to keep both the 12-24 and 18-200, the latter because it is versatile and lightweight, good for travel and hiking, etc.<br>

In terms of lenses, I have read many good reports on the Nikon 24-70 and 70-200. I am attracted to them by their higher sharpness, speed and overall quality as compared to what I have. I actually rented the 70-200 for a weekend and was pleased by the results. Question: Would both work well with the D200 (DX) or would I also need to change to a D300S or D700 (FX)? That would seemingly blow the budget.<br>

Or would you suggest a different set of lenses given what I've described? <br>

And what to do about getting better closeups? I rented the Nikon 60mm but was not impressed. <br>

I'd like to make a decision soon and purchase before a trip to Kauai in October. Many thanks.</p>

<p>Hi Robert,</p>

<p>"Achieving higher quality" is always a worthwhile, but tough goal and much good has been written about it by people with more experience than I ( http://bythom.com/blame.htm ).</p>

<p>From a pure camera and lens standpoint: A while back I owned just an 18-200VR and a Sigma 10-20 (similar lens combo to yours) though with a D300. I found that switching away from a 'superzoom' made a big difference.</p>

<p>Initially I added the 35 f1.8 which I think makes a nice addition for lower light or just when weight is an issue. </p>