Epsonscan vs Silverfast 8.5 vs Vuescan

<p>I can't offer much help except to say that I've been using Vuescan for many years and I'm very happy with it. Tech support from Ed Hamrick is outstanding and if you purchase the Professional version you'll get free updates several times a month. I would recommend downloading the free trial and giving it a try. Good luck.</p>

<p>Epsonscan is a good, working-class piece of scanning software, the best of all the manufacturers' programs I've used. It is simple, reliable and quick. The latest version is a bit cludgy in naming files, but serviceable. It is not, however, a color managed product.</p>

<p>Silverfast is color managed, and some versions come with calibration software and targets for transparencies. It also provides a common working surface for all compatible scanners, but you have to buy a new package for each scanner make and model. I have used it for nearly two decades with a variety of scanners, both flatbed and film (Nikon), with good results. It is a deep program, and most of us only use a few of its capabilities. The learning curve is steep, but once you get it, upgrades and new scanners are easy to master.</p>

<p>Vuescan has a lot of capabilities, and as with Silverfast, you are not tied to Windows XP for older scanners. I've tried it, but find it lacking compared to Silverfast - a very small operation by comparison. It's main <em>raison d'etre</em> is that it's cheap.</p>

<p>I don't know if they are still available, but years ago I bought the Kodachrome calibration target from SilverFast and used it with SilverFast to scan hundreds of Kodachromes in a color managed workflow. I got great results. If you are really serious about scanning Kodachrome, you need a Kodachrome target to calibrate and create a color profile for your scanner.</p>