Epson V700 and refurbished scanner opinions

Hello,

I have a small personal collection of about 1200 35mm color slides that I am

looking to digitize. I am considering an Epson V700.

I'm no photo pro, and probably won't use the scanner a whole lot afterwards. I

might even eBay it. The original photos are not of great quality, but are

meaningful (climbing trips) and will eventually be used on my site and

potentially to print a handful of the better ones to a medium size (~ 8x10,

11x14, maybe some stitched summit panaramics) to hang on the wall.

It seems the best current price ($415 vs. $480) is an Epson.com mfg refurbished

unit, and it would be great to hear people's feedback on these sensitive devices

purchased as refurbished. On one hand, it may seem less than ideal purchasing

something refurbished; on the other hand, the factory should be able to ensure

everything is in spec before releasing it for sale.

Thoughts and personal experiences?

Is there a good standard test to conduct on a new scanner to see if it's

performing as it should?

Does anyone think this is not a good hardware choice or that it's overkill?

Cheers!

Avery

You'd be better off buying a used Nikon Coolscan IV ED film scanner. I bought one with all

the standard carriers and software last summer for $230. It will do a better job than the

flatbed scanner, and faster.

Although the nominal resolution is lower than the V700, the results are sharper and higher

quality.

Godfrey