Epson R1800 new driver has caused colour change

<p>The hard disk on my Mac Book Pro crashed and I had to reinstall everything. The original driver for my R1800, which had produced perfect prints with a minimum of setting-changing, would no longer work with Snow Leopard and I had to download Epson's latest driver. That being the ONLY change, my prints now have a magenta/dark look to them, not severe but enough to want to correct, but nothing I've tried makes it any better.<br>

I should point out that I'm a working photographer and what I see on screen is the same colour as what appears in print and what prints out from my smaller Epson R285 printer. I'm not worried about calibrating my screen. As far as I'm concerned it displays the colour correctly.<br>

I'm loathe to buy a new printer as there's nothing wrong with this one but it looks like I might have to. Epson, as you might have guessed, have been no use at all.<br>

I've got through loads of paper trying various profiles, paper, print from Photoshop/print from Printer options and all the usual stuff but nothing helps.<br>

Any suggestions would be gratefully received.</p>

<p>PS. The older driver the one that worked perfectly) is probably on a back up disk but I've no idea what it might be called or how I would install it even if I found it.</p>

<p>Have you tried using Apple's version of the driver instead of the driver directly downloaded from Epson's site?</p>

<p>I've had the same issues with my $70 Epson NX400 "3 in 1" where in Tiger I could have the image in AdobeRGB and use specific non-traditonal settings in the Epson driver using "Printer Manages Color" and get almost perfect color match on Ultra Premium Gloss.</p>

<p>Bought a new Snow Leopard system and used Apple's driver for my Epson which Epson had none available on their site and now have to convert images to sRGB to get the same results. Don't know what changed but it's my way of rolling with it.</p>