EOS Utility-Can't Write to Folder?!

dan_spellman

<p>Hey guys,<br>

So I'm a young photographer who just finished his first paid photography job. Yay! So I get home and start to load the images onto my portable HD, which I usually do. After about 100 I'm told "Cannot write to selected folder. Select another folder." No idea why, since theres over 100GB availible. I think it might be some random quirk within the file structure, so I create a new folder within my portable HD - same message.</p>

<p>I try and save onto my laptop's HD itself - same message, even though that has free space too...</p>

<p>Freaking out!</p>

<p>The battery is half charged. I tried rebooting. Any suggestions?</p>

<p>Dan S.</p>

<p>Robin and Wayne are right: Remove the card from the camera and plug it into either an external card reader or your computer's built-in card reader (if it has one). Your computer's OS, either Windows or Mac, should see the card as a removable-media drive, and you can upload your images directly without using EOS Utility.</p>

<p>It would be interesting to see if using the reader will cure the problem. I personally don't think so because every DSLR has the reader built-in and if it starts writing it is working as it should be. It could be that the image is corrupt and when it tries to copy that image to HD it chokes and you get that error. Notice on which image the error occurs and then uncheck that image so it is not included in the download. See if that helps.</p>

<p>This is odd. Like Ilya, I can't see why the reader would matter, but the EOS software might. Is the error message a Windows dialog or an EOS error message? that might be a clue.</p>

<p>In any case, it's easy enough to try an external reader.</p>

<p>Please post what you find out. Good luck.</p>