Entry Level DSLR

Guys,

I currently have a Canon PowerShot A530 and I hate it. This camera performs very

poorly in low light and indoors and I am tired of it.

I want to buy a camera that will give me good image quality especially in low light

and indoors. I'll also prefer a smaller camera.

I have never used a DSLR before and though I am very fond of taking pictures, I am

initially looking for an entry level DSLR. I'll prefer a smaller more compact DSLR

but this is not a deal breaker. Something in the range of 400-800. I don't mind

buying a refurbished DSLR to bring down the cost.

I read a lot of threads on the forums and the more I read the more confused I get.

Your inputs will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Chirag

Nikon D80 for $729 and a fast prime lens. D300 will do better at $1800. The D80 is at the end of its life cycle and is priced right.

D60 is small, new, and will be fully functional with any of the older lenses so you are stuck with buying new immediately loosing the initial cost savings. There are no fast primes fully compatable with the D60 except Sigmas which I do not recommend.

Don`t know a thing about Canon except there is no significant difference . You are looking at consumer Digital Rebel or semi pro 40D.

D40 is crippled the same way as as D40x and D60. Cheap to buy, expensive when

you get more lenses.

It is very small camera, ok if you have small thin hands. Not ok if you are a wide

receiver.

440 is a good price and be sure the kit lens 18/55 comes with it. They are bundled

together and D40`s are not sold without by legit dealers. Calumet sells both at 500

total.

The D40 is crap. Nighmarish ergonomics and virtually incompatible to anything but AF-S lenses -- so NO primes will work fully on this camera. Even AF Nikkors must be focused manually, which is next to impossible due to the poor viewfinder.