enlarger lens on a 4x5 camera?

tom_scott6

I have an old Schneider Kreuznach Componar 1:4.5 / 75 lens for an enlarger. Is

it possible to use this lens on a view camera? If so what size shutter would I

need?

Thank you for your time and attention in advance as I'm new to the large

format world of photography.

T. Scott

Coverage expands as the lens moves away from the image, which is the same as saming

coverage expands as you focus on closer objects. To have this effect make a 75 mm enlarger

lens cover 4x5, you will have to focus very close, probably to make a larger than lifesize

image. If you are interested in doing this, look at some of the old threads on macro

photography. The exposures sometimes become so long (from bellows extension and

reciprocity failure), that you might not even need a shutter, at least to try it out.

One unique use for this lens on the LF and -YES- I have done it with success. It is a tough trick, but you can use it as an extreme macro by mounting it backwards on a lensboard. I did this to get a photo of a coin on 4x5 that was an (about) 8 times enlargement of the coin. This is how it is designed to be used, with these ratios.

You have to set the f/stop either before you put the lens in or by removing the back and sticking your hand in. I used a 75mm Omega enlarging lens. Remeber that your depth of field is about 1mm. I did it in a blacked out studio with multiple strobe exposures so the dark slide was my only shutter.

Try this. Have fun.

I have used a Nikkor 135mm EL lens for night shooting. Works very well and is razor sharp. The BS about them not being suitable for landscape stuff is just that BS. Sure if you only look at the math they shouldn't work very well, but if you just use them, and forget about the math they are just fine. I have attached a photo made with the 135mm. In an 11x14 print you can see every bit of detail in the bricks on the building.<div>00KgHg-35927584.jpg.8a8f6d305ac9a989fb16d79b255f72c6.jpg</div>